NATIONAL HEADQUARTERS VETERANS OF FOREIGN WARS OF THE UNITED STATES

General Orders No. 3

2018-19 Series

1. The following National appointments are hereby announced:

NATIONAL AIDE DE CAMP-MEDAL OF HONOR CLASS:

Drew Dix, Post 9785, Eagle River, AK Frederick Ferguson, Post 7401, Chandler, AZ Jay Vargas, Post 1709, Flagstaff, AZ John Baca, Post 4630, National City, CA Robert Modrzejewski, Post 4379, Winchester, CA Richard Pittman, Post 52, Stockton, CA James Taylor, Post 7265, Livermore, CA Hiroshi Miyamura, Post 1, Denver, CO Harvey Barnum, Post 10052, Cheshire, CT Rvan Pitts, Post 8862, EU Gary Littrell, Post 11367, Mary Esther, FL Ronald Ray, Post 4945, Auburndale, FL Allen Kellogg, Post 10154, Honolulu, HI Sammy Davis, Post 4549, Robinson, IL Harold Fritz, Post 2078, East Peoria, IL Allen Lynch, Post 4308, Lake Villa, IL Roger Donlon, Post 56, Leavenworth, KS Charles Hagemeister, Post 56, Leavenworth, KS Don Jenkins, Post 5837, Aberdeen, KY Ernest West, Post 15018, MAL-KY Brian Thacker, Post 341, MD Thomas Hudner, Post 6712, Revere, MA Thomas Kelley, Post 529, Somerville, MA Duane Dewey, Post 667, South Haven, MI Robert Simanek, Post 6896, Dearborn Heights, MI Alfred Rascon, Post 1296, Minneapolis, MN Donald Ballard, Post 7356, Kansas City, MO J R Kerrey, Post 10617, Omaha, NE Edward Byers, Post 2313, Hawthorne, NV Jack Jacobs, Post 6090, Fords, NJ Gary Biekirch, Post 16, Rochester, NY Paul Bucha, Post 8213, Somers, NY Francis Currey, Post 6776, Albany, NY Robert O'Malley, Post 2813, Woodside, NY Florent Groberg, Post 8866, Supply, NC Frank Herda, 1974, Cleveland, OH Gordon Roberts, Post 6069, Lebanon, OH Ronald Russer, Post 3297, Delaware, OH Robert Maxwell, Post 4108, Redmond, OR Walter Marm, Post 927, Washington, PA James Livingston, Post 10624, Mount Pleasant, SC Robert Patterson, Post 3433, Summerville, SC Michael Thornton, Post 9539, Roebuck, SC Michael Fitzmaurice, Post 1776, Huron, SD Charles Coolidge, Post 4848, Chattanooga, TN Clarence Sasser, Post 8576, Clute, TX Wesley Fox, Post 5311, Christiansburg, VA

Patrick Brady, Post 15049, MAL-WA Bruce Crandall, Post 7392, Oak Harbor, WA Joe Jackson, Post 91, Tacoma, WA Thomas Kinsman, MAL-WA Wilburn Ross, Post 318, Olympia, WA Hershel Williams, Post 7048, Fairmont, WV Kenneth Stumpf, Post 2126, Menasha, WI Gary Wetzel, Post 2304, Berlin, WI

NATIONAL DEPUTY CHIEF OF STAFF:

Daniel Duffy, Post 1966, Fort Lauderdale, FL Eugene LeShore, Post 10174, St. Petersburg, FL Ronald Mills, Post 4256, Madeira Beach, FL Donald Pearsall, Post 12167, Merritt, FL Jason Smith, Post 10094, Largo, FL William Thompson, Post 3349, Palatka, FL Laura Andrews, Post 8838, Roebling, NJ Kara Kauffman, Post 5579, Gibbstown, NJ Norman Wiener, Post 6964, Brigantine, NJ Roger Hansen, Post 2118, Brookings, SD Tommy Hines, Post 9954, Victoria, VA Geoffrey Lyster, Post 9835, Warrenton, VA Thomas Troy, Post 5412, Burke, VA Vernon Anderson, Post 4442, Elm Grove, WV

ASSISTANT INSPECTOR GENERAL:

Harold Baldwin, Post 4761, Jacksonville, FL Donald Bult, Post 11406, Oceanway, FL Ronny Chapman, Post 10131, Cape Canaveral, FL Anthony Gardner, Post 10140, Tampa, FL Lonnie Loff, Post 4141, Delray Beach, FL Stephen Surface, Post 10094, Largo, FL John Elley, Post 6063, Toms River, NJ Chad Kent, Post 5579, Gibbstown, NJ Steven Stokes, Post 9462, Absecon, NJ Charles McKean, Post 3298, Parkston, SD Michael Chism, Post 2582, Suffolk, VA William Shepherd, Post 3160, Norfolk, VA Thomas Williams, Post 1503, Dale City, VA Kami Elliott, Post 7048, East Fairmount, WV

2. Members are reminded that under the subscription dues model, an annual members dues expire on the last day of the month of which they paid the previous year. Annual members are encouraged to renew their dues prior to their anniversary month to avoid a lapse in continuous membership. Officers and committee members, whose membership is not in good standing by reason to pay current dues, by the end of their anniversary month, shall forfeit eligibility to hold any office the remainder of the administrative year.

In addition, every effort should be made to renew the membership of continuous members and sign up new and recover former members at all times during the year.

3. Attention of Post Commanders is directed to the Commander-in-Chief's decision in response to questions raised concerning alcoholic beverages and smoking/vaping in the Post meeting room during the Post meeting as set forth below:

It is held to be objectionable and contrary to accepted rules of order and proper decorum implicit in the ritual of the Veterans of Foreign Wars to permit alcoholic beverages or the use of smoking/vaping products in the Post meeting room during the Post meeting. Accordingly, the presence, dispensation, and/or consumption of alcoholic beverages or the use of smoking/vaping products in VFW meeting rooms during VFW meetings are unacceptable and is prohibited.

It is the intent of the Commander-in-Chief's decision, regarding this response, to include Post, County Council, District and Department meetings, whereas it is held to be objectionable. Please refer to Section 1001 (25) of the National Manual of Procedure.

4. Certificates of charter evidencing consolidation have been issued to the following Posts:

Post Nos. 1977 and 3902 consolidated as Post No. 1977, Decorah, Iowa Post Nos. 5008 and 6681 consolidated as Post No. 5008, Wilkins Township, Pennsylvania

5. Announcement is made of the authorization of the charter for the following Post:

Post No. 12175 – Leitchfield, Kentucky

BY COMMAND OF VINCENT B.J. LAWRENCE COMMANDER-IN-CHIEF

OFFICIAL:

Kevin & Jones Adjutant General