Business Session Mid-Winter Conference – Cody, Wyoming

Commander Cain called the meeting to order at 1:30 pm on January 13, 2018. Acting Chaplain Miller gave the opening prayer, and the Commander led the Pledge of Allegiance.

The following officers were in attendance: Commander Willis Cain SVC Donnell Nichols JVC Josh Schmidt A/Q Trish Peoples Chief of Staff Clarence Styvar Inspector Jim Pedersen Jr. PDC Dennis Miller District 2 Commander Sam Cotton District 3 Commander J. Robert Marquez District 4 Commander Earl McDonald District 5 Commander Dale Winston

Chaplain Joe Tallon, Judge Advocate Lee Yake, and Surgeon Jayson Zimmerman were excused for medical conditions. The District 1 Commander recently passed away and the SVC, Josh Schmidt, is already a member of the Council.

The Commander welcomed everyone, observed a moment of silence for the deceased District 1 Commander, J. Dee Darnell, and introduced national guests. Roger Frye, VFW National Chief of Staff Rick Butler, VFW National Membership Director Candidate for Junior Vice Commander-in-Chief, Tim Borland

The Commander also recognized our Past Department Commanders.

Pete Quinnell Rod Birkle Larry Parkins Dennis Miller John Mergenthal Jim Pedersen Cheryl Shannon

A/Q Peoples called the post roll:

Post 2673, Cody: Commander, Quartermaster + 8 Post 3093, Worland: Quartermaster Post 3305, Greybull: Absent Post 5054, Powell: Commander + 1Post 2281, Thermopolis: Commander, Quartermaster Post 954, Lander: Absent Post 3628, Riverton: Commander Post 10056, Dubois: Commander, Quartermaster + 4 Post 1560, Sheridan: 1 Post 2469, Buffalo: Commander + 1 Post 2516, Newcastle: Absent Post 4311, Sundance: Absent Post 7756, Gillette: Commander, Quartermaster + 2Post 8473, Moorcroft: Absent Post 3511, Lusk: Absent Post 9439, Casper: Commander + 2Post 10677, Casper: Absent Post 2221, Laramie: Absent Post 2311, Rawlins: Absent Post 6125, Encampment: Absent Post 6680, Hanna: Absent Post 2321, Green River: Commander + 3 Post 4274, Jackson: Absent Post 4280, Evanston: Absent Post 4797, Afton: Absent Post 4801, Pinedale: Absent Post 7798, Mountain View: Absent Post 1881, Cheyenne: Quartermaster +2Post 2918, Torrington: Commander Post 3558, Wheatland: Commander + 1Post 4343, Cheyenne: Commander + 1Post 4471, Guernsey: 1 Post 11453, Chevenne: Commander, Quartermaster + 3

Comrade Dennis Wright from the Philippines gave a presentation on the Bells of Balangiga.

Mike Clark from Wyoming Protection and Advocacy spoke on how his nonprofit organization can help veterans with disabilities.

A/Q Peoples reported on Council of Administration deliberations.

- Council granted a \$7,200 loan to Rawlins (through Carbon County Veterans) to fix its roof
- Service office now has more open space, desk risers and a children's play area
- Council granted a 2% pay raise for Service Officer and Claims Consultant
- Service office voicemail response will be addressed in Employee Handbook
- Due to surplus Veterans' Aid funds, the Department is making the following donations

\$1,000 to VFW National's Unmet Needs Program
\$1,000 to Wyoming 211
\$500 to VFW National's Disaster Relief Fund
\$500 to J. Dee Darnell's widow

- PCI fundraiser is starting soon
- VOD Payments will be made to the individuals when they win
- A motion to create a Department of Wyoming Safety/Public Servant Award in J. Dee Darnell's name will be taken to the membership in June.

The following program reports were given.

Legislative Committee

Dennis Miller

National Program Committee/ Jim Pedersen Inspector/Time and Place District 1: April 7, 2018, Thermopolis, 10:00 District 2: April 14, 2018, Moorcroft, 10:00 District 3: April 15, 2018, Casper (9439), 10:00 District 4: May 5, 2018, Afton, 10:00 District 5: April 21, 2018, Guernsey, 10:00

> June 2018 Convention: Post 1881, Cheyenne January 2019 Conference, Post 3558, Wheatland June 2019 Convention: Post 9439, Casper

Teacher of the Year Winners

Grades K-5: Greta Ayers, Post 4471 Grades 6-8: Sarah Hummel, Post 7756 Grades 9-12: Pete Berg, Post 11453 VOD/PP (John DeRouen) Patriot's Pen 1st Place: Jaden Campbell, Post 6125 Patriot's Pen 2nd Place: Ethan Kemp, Post 4801 Patriot's Pen 3rd Place: Keegan Tunnicliff, Post 1881 14 posts, 260 entries, \$4,646 Voice of Democracy 1st Place: Jacob Brogdan, Post 7756 Voice of Democracy 2nd Place: Mikayla Van Natter, Post 4471 Voice of Democracy 3rd Place: Brooke Hornberger, Post 4801 18 posts, 39 entries, \$5,820 **Dale Winston** Loyalty Day/POW/MIA Homeless Vets/VMS **Ron Steffensmeier Donnell Nichols Community Service Veterans Service** Cheryl Shannon \$1,293,402.89 paid out to veterans, July-December 2017. **Rod Birkle** National Council/Poppy Membership/Life Membership Ray Cassell Those present who had recruited members were entered in a drawing. We are still a bit ahead on Utah in recruiting numbers. Safety (Trish Peoples) **Emergency Medical Technician Public Servant** Sharon Holloway, Post 4471 Law Enforcement Kyle Thomson, Post 4797 National Home (Josh Schmidt) We've collected \$1,350 for the National Home, with a promise from Riverton of \$1,000 more.

The commander led the closing ceremonies. The next meeting will be the Department Convention hosted by Post 1881 in Cheyenne, June 2018.